Michael W. Smith Announces Live Worship Album, Surrounded, To Release Feb. 23



Prolific Artist Releases Unprecedented Two Albums In One Month,

Including A Million Lights Feb. 16

Both Albums Available This Week For Preorder

Facebook Premiered “Surrounded (Fight My Battles)” Video Christmas Eve

Multi-Platinum artist, best-selling author and acclaimed actor Michael W. Smith releases for the first time in his career two, all new albums in one month, both his studio album A Million Lights (Feb. 16) and the live worship album Surrounded (Feb. 23) from Rocketown Records and The Fuel Music.

Surrounded is available now for preorder at LifeWay Christian Stores and for preorder everywhere Friday, Dec. 29 while A Million Lights is available for preorder now at digital and physical retailers globally, with multiple instant song downloads available from iTunes. Special, limited edition autographed versions of both albums are also available for preorder now from Amazon.com.

In many ways, Michael is a statesman, at the fulcrum of Christian music in pivotal moments. It is said that the heart of a lion never goes away, and Michael isn’t content staying with the equilibrium. At a loss for what his voice should be toward the end of 2016, this prolific artist comes roaring back with two full-length albums in a countercultural response to the divisive national sentiment of 2017 and the mean-spirited banter on social media.


With Surrounded, Michael’s desire is to unify the Church’s diverse expressions into one passionate, joyful cry of worship. Gathering worshippers around him and his band Nov. 2 for an intimate, set in the round recording of Surrounded at The Factory / Jamison Hall in Franklin, TN, Michael shares:

“I feel God moving through His Church and He is calling us together to be one voice and one heart. One bride. Every nation, every tribe and every tongue. Every social class, every denomination.

“What if we bring Him the thing that pleases Him most– our unity,” implores Michael. “We may each have different stories, and skin, and songs, but we all share His same Spirit.”

Leading a diverse chorus of voices, Michael’s new worship album features 12 tracks, including the declarative “Surrounded (Fight My Battles),” which releases Dec. 29 as a digital single and is available as an instant download with each iTunes preorder of the album.

The song also becomes the first video from the recording that was world-premiered Christmas Eve on Michael’s Facebook and website, and will be available to stream Dec. 29 on Spotify and other outlets internationally.

The full Surrounded track listing follows:

1)   Your House

2)   Light To You

3)   King Of My Heart

4)   Reckless Love

5)   Here I Bow

6)   Miracles

7)   Do It Again

8)   Surrounded (Fight My Battles)

9)   Build My Life

10) Washed Away

11) Great Are You Lord

12) Light To You (reprise)

Prior to today’s announcement of Surrounded, his first live worship album since 2014’s Sovereign that became a top 10 Billboard 200, No. 1-selling Christian album, Michael’s 13-song A Million Lights has already been receiving significant acclaim. USA Today raves in its first-ever “Life” section cover story on Michael that he “is shining brighter than ever” and noticing that the recording “marks a sonic departure for the Grammy winner.”

Yahoo! Music applauds A Million Lights for “tackling a tough audience: the divided American people” and points out that the album’s single, “Love Always Wins,” “is especially relevant in today’s environment, calling for focus on the positive.”

Two instant downloads from A Million Lights are available now with each iTunes preorder: both the Yahoo! Music–premiered “Love Always Wins” and the album’s title track, which is also the first music video from the album that can be seen on YouTube.

“A Million Lights” and “Love Always Wins” are further being heard now on major Spotify playlists like “Top Christian,” “Ultimate Indie” and “Dance Around The House.”

“Until the world ends, music is the most powerful language there is,” says Michael. “It can transform your life on every level, not just the spiritual. It can help people reconnect with why they’re here.”

For all the latest Michael W. Smith news, go to www.michaelwsmith.com and connect through his socials:


About Michael W. Smith:  Michael has been releasing new music regularly and performing around the world to sold-out crowds for the last 30+ years. During his storied career, he’s written 32 No. 1 singles, been honored with three Grammy Awards and 45 Dove Awards, was inducted into the Gospel Music Hall of Fame and has sold more than 15 million albums. He’s also given back to the global community. Michael has raised funds to battle AIDS in Africa alongside longtime friend Bono; started Rocketown, a safe haven for young people in Tennessee to meet and find hope; and has helped more than 70,000 children through Compassion International.

About The Fuel Music:  Established in 2008, The Fuel Music & Management, LLC, is a leading artist management and artist solutions company that independently distributes music internationally. Based in Nashville, TN, the Fuel team brings nearly 70 years of combined music industry experience in record label operations, major label distribution and marketing, and artist management for artists ranging from upstart bands to GRAMMY Award nominated, multi-platinum artists. More information on the company can be found at www.thefuelmusic.com.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

It would be great if you would stay connected with me!! You can follow me on Twitter @DebiL1611, like me on Facebook at 2014 and Beyond, circle me on Google+, follow me on Tumblr, Instagram and Bloglovin’, subscribe on YouTube, or connect with me on LinkedIn and Pinterest.

Please make sure to visit my homepage and subscribe to my blog for more great posts on running, fitness and lifestyle topics as well as food, product, music and book reviews, and more!